Divergent – Veronica Roth

One choice decides your friends, defines your beliefs and determines your loyalties… forever.

When sixteen-year-old Tris makes her choice, she cannot foresee how drastically her life will change. Or that the perfect society in which she lives is about to unfold into a dystopian world of electrifying decisions, stunning consequences, heartbreaking decisions and unexpected romance.

One choice can transform you.

There is one mirror in my house. It is behind a sliding panel in the hallway upstairs. Our faction allows me to stand in front of it on the second day of every third month, the day my mother cuts my hair.

Rating: 5/5 – I’ve heard so many good reviews about this book, and I’m going to add another to that total! though, I am slightly reluctant to review because I don’t want to give spoilers for such a great story.

I actually started reading the book at the same time as a friend of mine – though neither of us knew the other had the book. This book is great! I love the idea of factions, splitting society into separate groups (not that I’d want it to happen in the real world, of course). I love the way the characters are written – I felt Tris’ pain, I’d hate to leave my family under those circumstances, with both children leaving home.

Four was my favourite, by far. Sure, he has seemingly random mood swings, but I can forgive that, as the rest of his character is so perfectly written.

The storyline was great! Unique, with many plot twists. The romance side of the novel was a little slow to develop, I have to admit I was hoping for it to happen much sooner than it did.

I definitely recommend this book, there’s no doubt about it.

~ by exogenetic on October 1, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
